Honour Roll: Faculty awards and recognition

One of the reasons the UAlberta Faculty of Education is recognized as one of the best in Canada is the quality of teaching, research and scholarship that takes place here. Congratulations to the following faculty members, who have achieved distinction in these areas and have recently been acknowledged for their impactful work, both within and beyond the academic community.

Cathy Adams (Elementary Education)

University of Alberta secondary education professor Cathy Adams has been awarded the 2018 Vargo Teaching Chair, becoming the first Faculty of Education member to be so honoured since its establishment in 2003.

Vargo Teaching Chairs at the University of Alberta were created to foster excellence in teaching at the University. This program is committed to support individuals demonstrating innovative and creative teaching methods which enhance learning by undergraduate and graduate students.

Adams’ research program draws on links between phenomenology, pedagogy, philosophy of technology and media scholarship to addresses digital technology integration across K-12 and post-secondary educational environments, ethical and pedagogical issues involving digital media in schools, and K-12 computing science curriculum and pedagogy.

George Georgiou (Educational Psychology)

University of Alberta educational psychology professor George Georgiou is one of 52 new members from across Canada named to the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

A statement from the Royal Society of Canada notes, “George Georgiou is a world-class researcher examining reading development and dyslexia across languages. His research has brought us closer to a more realistic description of the processes involved in reading and has helped educators around the world reconsider the way reading is taught. Most importantly, his research offers practical hope and an excellent example of knowledge mobilization for the public good.”

Founded in 1882, the Royal Society of Canada recognizes excellence, advises the government and the larger society, and promotes a culture of knowledge and innovation in Canada and with other national academies around the world.

André P. Grace (Educational Policy Studies)

University of Alberta education professor André P. Grace has been awarded the 2018 Distinguished Academic Award by an organization representing the faculty associations of Alberta’s four research-intensive universities.

The Confederation of Alberta Faculty Associations (CAFA) recognized Grace, who holds the Canada Research Chair in Sexual Minority Studies, for scholarly, creative and professional activities that have made outstanding contributions that reach beyond the university community.

“Dr. Grace has established a well-deserved reputation both for the quality of his scholarship, as evidenced by an extensive list of publications, research grants and awards, and for his public role as a tireless proponent of research-based policy-making and proactive intervention to address the challenges facing [sexual gender minority] youth in education, social services, and healthcare,” according to a statement from CAFA.

CAFA represents academic staff associations at the University of Alberta, the University of Lethbridge, the University of Calgary, and Athabasca University.

Brooke Madden (Educational Policy Studies)

The Canadian Education Association has awarded Brooke Madden the 2018 Pat Clifford Award for Early Career Research in Education. This prestigious award recognizes Madden’s exceptional leadership in designing pre-service teacher training that challenges students to consider how race, ancestry, gender and geography—among other identity-based factors—influence Indigenous-settler relations and engagement in truth and reconciliation education.

The Pat Clifford Award recognizes the work of emerging researchers—their research contributions, their promise, and their commitment to breaking new ground or revisiting commonly held assumptions in education policy, practice or theory in Canada.

Toni Samek (School of Library and Information Studies)

SLIS Professor and Chair Toni Samek has been invited to join the Golden Key International Honour Society in honorary membership in recognition of her academic and career achievements in library and information studies. The society’s University of Alberta Chapter president will present her with an honorary membership certificate at their new member recognition event this November.

Golden Key is an international society that recognizes academic achievement among college and university students in the top 15 per cent of their class. The University of Alberta Chapter was established in 1998 and has over 700 undergraduate and graduate members.

Feature image: Andre Grace (photo; Laura Sou)