Honour Roll: Faculty, staff and student awards and recognition

Congratulations to the following Education faculty members and students who have achieved distinction and have recently been acknowledged for their impactful work, both within and beyond the academic community.

Faculty of Education Teaching Awards and Grants

The Teaching and Research Awards ceremony scheduled for March 26 had to be postponed. And though a global pandemic might have kept us from gathering, nothing can keep us from celebrating the faculty, sessionals and graduate students honoured with teaching and research awards in the Faculty of Education this year.

Undergraduate Teaching Award: Kathy Robinson (Elementary Education)
Graduate Teaching Award: Tami Oliphant (SLIS)
Sessional Teaching Award: Riki Kuropatwa (Elementary Education)
Graduate Student Teaching Awards: Domenique Gadsden (Educational Psychology); Jodi Harding-Kuriger (Elementary Education); Danielle Lorenz (Educational Policy Studies)
Larry Beauchamp Senior Researcher Award: Martin Mrazik (Educational Psychology)
Coutts-Clarke Research Fellowship: Darryl Hunter (Educational Policy Studies)
ATA Educational Research Award: George Georgiou (Educational Psychology)
UAlberta-ATA Signature Research Collaboration Grants: Lia Daniels (Educational Psychology); Kent den Heyer (Secondary Education); Rebecca Hudson-Breen (Educational Psychology)

Read full coverage of the Faculty of Education Teaching Awards.

University Awards of Teaching Excellence

The following Education faculty members were honoured with 2020 University Awards of Teaching Excellence.

Lauren Sulz (Secondary Education) is the recipient of the Provost’s Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, which recognizes publicly the achievement of teaching excellence by full-time continuing academic staff within five years of their first university appointment, publicizes such excellence to the University and the wider community, encourages the pursuit of achievement of such excellence among newly appointed academic staff, and promotes informed discussion of teaching and its improvement at the University of Alberta.

Tami Oliphant (SLIS) received the Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching, intended to recognize graduate-level teaching excellence by full-time continuing academic staff (regardless of seniority), to publicize such excellence to the University and the wider community, to encourage the pursuit of such excellence, and to promote informed discussion of graduate teaching and its improvement at the University of Alberta.

The HPE Master of Education Cohort Teaching Unit (Doug Gleddie, Hayley Morrison and Lauren Sulz) in the Faculty of Education was selected as the 2020 recipient of the University's Teaching Unit Award. The intent of the Teaching Unit Award is to celebrate excellence in teaching when a group of individuals consistently work together to promote outstanding teaching and learning.

Lynette Shultz (Educational Policy Studies) and Olenka Bilash (Secondary Education) are recipients of 2020 Great Supervisor Awards from the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research (FGSR). The FGSR Great Supervisor Award recognizes supervisors who demonstrate strong supervisory skills or who foster mentorship in their programs. A great supervisor is someone who has been particularly helpful, such as a supportive supervisory committee member, or someone who fosters good supervision and mentorship in your program.

2020 McCalla Professorship

Cheryl Poth (Educational Psychology) has been awarded a 2020-21 McCalla Professorship McCalla Professors are outstanding academics who have made (and continue to make) significant contributions to the integration of teaching and research, and educational leadership.

Publishing/dissertation awards

Brooke Madden (Secondary Education) has received the Canadian Association for Curriculum Studies (CACS) Outstanding Publication Award 2020, for her paper entitled "A de/colonizing theory of truth and reconciliation education." Read more about her research.

Educational Psychology professor Cheryl Poth’s book Innovation in Mixed Methods Research was chosen for the 2020 Most Promising New Textbook Award by the Textbook & Academic Authors Association (TAA).

Nathalie Reid, who recently completed her PhD in Elementary Education, has been chosen to receive a Canadian Association of Teacher Education Recognition Award for her dissertation “Teachers’ Experiences of/with Trauma and Trauma-Sensitivity: A Narrative Inquiry Into Trauma Stories and Stories of Trauma.”

Alexandra Fidyk (Secondary Education) is the recipient of the CSSE-CACS Arts Researchers and Teachers Society Publication Award for 2020, for her paper entitled “Trauma-Sensitive Practice for New Teacher Standards: Addressing the Epidemic of Our Times," originally published in the journal In Education.

Graduate students’ non-academic awards

Educational Psychology master's student Katrina Aranas’s photo entitled "Exercise Prescription for ADHD" won the People's Choice Award in this year's Images of Research contest.

Educational Policy Studies PhD student Anna Wilson is the recipient of this year's Savita Shah Award from the Mahatma Gandhi Canadian Foundation for World Peace for her community service and volunteerism. The recipient of this award exemplifies compassionate qualities and who selflessly contributes to their community with no expectation of accolades.

Faculty positions

Doug Gleddie has been appointed to the role of Associate Dean, Graduate, effective July 1, 2020. Dr. Gleddie accepted this position having last served as Acting Vice Dean for the Faculty in 2018-19 and Associate Chair, Graduate Program for the Department of Elementary Education in 2015-18.

Kathleen DeLong has accepted a one-year role as Interim Chair for the School of Library and Information Studies. This appointment commences on July 1, 2020, and is a half-time secondment. Dr. DeLong will therefore divide her time between the Faculty of Education and her existing role in Library and Museums as Executive Director and Deputy Chief Librarian.

Gregory Thomas has been appointed as Chair of the Department of Secondary Education for a five-year term effective July 1, 2021, following his one-year sabbatical commencing July 1, 2020. Dr. Thomas is a long-standing member of our Faculty, having joined the Department of Secondary Education in 2007.

The Department of Elementary Education is excited to congratulate three of their colleagues on their promotion. Doug Gleddie, Jerine Pegg and Lynne Wiltse were all promoted to full professor.

"It is clear they are outstanding teachers and their scholarship is recognized nationally and internationally, but I want to also acknowledge and thank them for their service," said Jennifer Branch-Mueller, Associate Chair - Graduate. "Jerine, Lynne and Doug have demonstrated, through their leadership roles, a strong commitment to making the Department of Elementary Education a great place to learn and to work."

Feature Image: The award-winning HPE Master of Education Cohort Teaching Unit, from left: Hayley Morrison, Lauren Sulz and Doug Gleddie.