Honour Roll: Awards and Recognition Fall 2020

Congratulations to the following Education faculty members, staff and students who have achieved distinction and have recently been acknowledged for their impactful work, both within and beyond the academic community.

University of Alberta Faculty of Education maintains spot near the top of national rankings

The University of Alberta Faculty of Education has once again been ranked in the top three Faculties of Education in Canada by Maclean’s Magazine’s 2021 University Rankings.

The UAlberta Faculty of Education was ranked third in both program reputation and research reputation. The University of British Columbia and the University of Toronto were tied for top spot in both categories.

“This is very good news for the Faculty,” said Dean of Education Jennifer Tupper. “Our strengths in teaching, research, professional contributions, community engagements and service are diverse and numerous. This strong ranking shows that we are deeply committed to the success of our students, and that the importance of research-based at the Faculty is recognized across Canada and beyond.”

This is the third consecutive year the UAlberta Faculty of Education has landed in the top three in Maclean’s university rankings.

Killam Professorship

Educational Psychology professor George Georgiou, has been awarded one of six Killam Annual Professorships for 2020-21!

The Killam Annual Professorship is granted to faculty members based on the quality of their scholarly activities such as teaching, research, publications, creative activities, presented papers, and supervision of graduate and undergraduate students.

Faculty member awards

Secondary Education professor jan jagodzinski has been awarded the 2020 Ted T. Aoki Award for Distinguished Service from the Canadian Association for Curriculum Studies. Dr. jagodzinski's immense service to the field and influence as a scholar and teacher are outstanding. He has advanced ‘post’ thinking in the Canadian and international curriculum landscape and developed critical understandings in phenomenology, postmodernism, poststructuralism, Lacanian psychoanalysis, Deleuzian post-psychoanalysis, and currently, posthuman and Anthropocene thinking. His body of work and far reaching contributions to the field of curriculum and art education have over the past 40 years, like Ted Aoki, helped to shape the terrain of Canadian and international thought in education.

Secondary Education professor David Chorney received the 2020 IT Innovation: Individual Award. Dr. Chorney has shown terrific focus, tenacity and dedication at the University of Alberta, and his hard work has contributed to the University of Alberta’s commitment to uplifting the whole people. The IT Innovation Award recognizes one support staff or academic member and one team for their innovative use of hardware and/or software technology to successfully deploy a major IT project with significant impact to research, teaching, administration and/or the University experience.

Publication awards

Congratulation to UAlberta winners of the 2020 Canadian Association for Teacher Education's Thesis and Dissertation Award of Recognition:

Nathalie Reid, PhD (Elementary Education) - Teachers’ Experiences of/with Trauma and Trauma-Sensitivity: A Narrative Inquiry Into Trauma Stories and Stories of Trauma
Xiong Wang, PhD (Secondary Education) - Understanding Collective Conversations in a Mathematics Professional Learning Network

Elementary Education doctoral graduate Qingna Jin was awarded the Science Education Research Group (SERG) Dissertation Award for her dissertation entitled Exploring Students' Metacognition in the Context of Argumentation (Mc-A) in an Elementary Science Classroom.

Eva Revitt, who recently completed a PhD in Educational Policy Studies, received the Association for Library and Information Science Education (ALISE) 2020 Eugene Garfield Doctoral Dissertation Award. Her winning dissertation is entitled The Academic Librarian as the Subaltern: An Institutionalized Ethnography of a Feminized Profession.

SLIS student awards

Kaia MacLeod, the 2020-21 President of the Library and Information Studies Students' Association (LISSA), has just been notified she is receiving a George A. Strait Minority Scholarship & Fellowship from the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL).

Congratulations to School of Library and Information Studies students Arianna Alcaraz, Christianne Elefante and Kaia MacLeod on being awarded American Library Association (ALA) 2020 Spectrum Scholarships. The ALA's Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services awarded 2020 Spectrum Scholarships to 61 exceptional students pursuing graduate degrees in library and information studies in Canada and the U.S.

SSHRC Doctoral Fellowships

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) has announced its doctoral fellowships for 2020. Congratulations to the following Education researchers on receiving this award.

Katrina Aranas (Educational Psychology): Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder in the Classroom: How Can We Best Utilize Physical Activity?
Michelle Buckle (Secondary Education): Investigating the Experiences of Black Youth Homicide Co-Victims in Canada: An Educational & Therapeutic Drama Approach 
Jan Buterman (Secondary Education): How can Canadian citizens gain sovereignty over their personal data?
Kristy Dunn (Educational Psychology): Improving the Reading Skills of English Language Learners: A 2-year Intervention
Agnes Flanagan (Educational Psychology): Making teachers’ high expectations intentional: An intervention study
Velvalee Georges (Elementary Education): Gathering evidence of learning: Indigenous language teachers and second language learning
Alleson Mason (Educational Policy Studies): African-Canadians and Supplementary Education Programs in Edmonton, Alberta
Julie Mooney (Educational Policy Studies): Living Policy: A narrative inquiry into Canadian university professors’ experiences as they begin moving toward reconciliation
Jasmine Nathoo (Educational Psychology): Seeking refuge: The integration experiences of adolescent Syrian girls in Canada
Annette Wentworth (Secondary Education): Remembering toward an inclusive future: Unsettling grief in a time of HIV/AIDS

Academic All Canadians

Congratulations to the University of Alberta’s 2019-20 Academic All-Canadians—varsity athletes who maintain an average of 80 per cent or better—including the following Education students:

Jenna Harpe (Basketball)
Kirsten Mangold (Rugby)
Megan Duro (Soccer)
Kate Walsh (Swimming)
Brittany Enstrom (Track)
Glenn Venance (Curling)
Aaron Chabaylo (Football)
Brad Launhardt (Football)
Carter O'Donnell (Football)
Noah Cunningham (Soccer)

Faculty and staff news

The Faculty of Education sends gratitude and best wishes to Elaine Simmt on the occasion of her retirement after 23 years in the University of Alberta Department of Secondary Education.

Toni Samek concluded her five-year term as Chair of the School of Library and Information Studies on June 30, 2020, the same day that the American Library Association renewed the accreditation for the MLIS program for the maximum period—seven years—plus an additional year for the pandemic.

Antonella Scaccia-DeWitt, Elementary Education's graduate program administrator, for an amazing 40 years of service in the Faculty of Education!

Feature image: MLIS student Kaia MacLeod is recipient of both the George A. Strait Minority Fellowship & Scholarship from the American Association of Law Libraries and a 2020 Spectrum Scholarship from the American Library Association.